Click to Print
Click to PrintCloseKnowledge Base Home

Edinburghshire, or the county of Midlothian, was a county in the east of Scotland. It included the burghs of Bonnyrigg, Dalkeith, Edinburgh, Lasswade, Leith, Loanhead, Musselburgh, Penicuick, and Portobello. The county boundaries (with neighbouring East Lothian and West Lothian counties) were changed significantly by the Boundary Commissioners in 1891. In 1896 the burgh of Portobello was absorbed by the City of Edinburgh, which itself became the County of the City of Edinburgh in 1900. Midlothian County Council was established by the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1889, taking over powers from the Commissioners of Supply, County Road Trust, and other local authorities. The County Council was abolished in 1975 by the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1973, and the former county became part of Lothian Region. The current local authority is Midlothian Council, set up in 1996, on the abolition of Lothian Regional Council. However, parts of the former county now lie under the administrative areas of Edinburgh City Council and (in the case of Musselburgh) East Lothian Council.

Archive services
Further information about these archives can be found in the SCAN Directory:
Midlothian Council Archives
National Archives of Scotland
National Library of Scotland
Edinburgh City Archives

Local studies libraries
Midlothian Council Libraries
Edinburgh City Libraries

Family History Societies
Lothian Family History Society



Historical records

County Council records
County Constabulary records
Medical Officer of Health reports
Vehicle Licensing Records
Valuation Rolls

JP court records
Register of sasines
Other records

<< Back