Click to Print

Stewartry of Kirkcudbright

The Stewartry of Kirkcudbright, or Kirkcudbrightshire, was an administrative area of Scotland, analagous to (and, until 1975, classed as) a county. For more information about stewartries click here. The Stewartry of Kirkcudbright (pronounced 'kirk-oo-bray') included the burghs of Castle Douglas, Dalbeattie, Gatehouse of Fleet, Kirkcudbright, Maxwelltown (until its annexation by Dumfries) and New Galloway (and many other ancient or smaller burghs, for which see G S Pryde, ‘The Burghs of Dumfriesshire and Galloway: Their Origin and Status’, in Transactions of the Dumfries and Galloway Natural History and Antiquarian Society, vol XXIX (1950-51). Kirkcudbright County Council was established by the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1889, taking over powers from the Commissioners of Supply, County Road Trust, and other local authorities. The County Council was abolished in 1975 by the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1973, and the former county became part of Dumfries & Galloway Region. The current local authority is the Dumfries & Galloway Council.

Archive services
Further information about these archives can be found in the SCAN Directory.
Dumfries & Galloway Archives
Dumfries & Galloway Health Board Archives
National Archives of Scotland
National Library of Scotland

Local studies libraries
Dumfries & Galloway Libraries: Local Studies Collection, Ewart Library, Dumfries
The Stewartry Museum, St Mary's Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4AQ (includes a local studies library, archives and photographs).

Principal Historical Societies
Dumfries and Galloway Natural History and Antiquarian Society
Dumfries & Galloway Family History Society




Historical records

County Council records
County Constabulary records
Medical Officer of Health reports
Vehicle Licensing Records
Valuation Rolls

JP court records
Register of sasines
Other records

<< Back