Click to Print
Click to PrintClose
County of Kincardine

Kincardine County
Kincardineshire was a county on the eastern seaboard of Scotland. The county was sometimes referred to as ‘the Mearns’ and included the burghs of Banchory, Inverbervie, Laurencekirk and Stonehaven. Kincardine County Council was established by the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1889, taking over powers from the Commissioners of Supply, County Road Trust, and other local authorities. The County Council was abolished in 1975 by the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1973, and the former county became part of Grampian Region. In 1995 Grampian Regional Council was abolished and the area which constituted the former county of Kincardine is now in the present local authority area of Aberdeenshire Council.

Archive services
Further information about these archives can be found in the SCAN Directory.
Aberdeenshire Archives
University of Aberdeen, Special Libraries and Archives
Northern Health Services Archives
National Archives of Scotland
National Library of Scotland

Local studies libraries
Aberdeenshire Library and Information Service

Family History Societies
Aberdeen & North-East Scotland Family History Society



Historical records

County Council records
County Constabulary records
Medical Officer of Health reports
Vehicle Licensing Records
Valuation Rolls

JP court records
Register of sasines
Other records


<< Back