Click to Print
Click to PrintCloseKnowledge Base Home

Dunbarton County
Dunbartonshire or Dunbarton County was the name of a county in the west of Scotland. The county included the parishes of Cumbernauld and Kirkintilloch, which were detached from the rest of the county. Dunbartonshire also included the burghs of Bearsden, Clydebank, Cove and Kilcreggan, Cumbernauld, Dumbarton, Helensburgh and Kirkintilloch, and the inhabited islands of Inchmurrin and Inchtavannach. It also included the New Town of Cumbernauld, designated in the 1960s. In the second half of the nineteenth century and the first half of the twentieth, parts of the county were absorbed by the City of Glasgow.. Dunbarton County Council was established by the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1889, taking over powers from the Commissioners of Supply, County Road Trust, and other local authorities. The County Council was abolished in 1975 by the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1973, and the former county became part of Strathclyde Region. In 1996, on the abolition of Strathclyde Regional Council, parts of the former county were placed under the administration of the following unitary authorities: East Dunbartonshire, West Dunbartonshire, Argyll & Bute, North Lanarkshire and Glasgow City.

Confusingly, although the county took its name from the town of Dumbarton, it is customary to spell the county name 'Dunbartonshire'. For an explanation of this click here.

Archive services
Further information about these archives can be found in the SCAN Directory.
Argyll & Bute Council Archives
Glasgow City Archives
North Lanarkshire Archives
Glasgow University Archives Services
NHS Greater Glasgow Archive

Local studies libraries
East Dunbartonshire Libraries
West Dunbartonshire Libraries
North Lanarkshire Libraries
Glasgow City Council Libraries and Archives

Family History Societies
Glasgow & South West of Scotland Family History Society



Location of historical records

County Council records
County Constabulary records
Medical Officer of Health reports
Vehicle Licensing Records
Valuation Rolls

JP court records
Register of sasines
Other records

<< Back