Click to Print
CloseKnowledge Base Home

County of Berwick

Berwickshire was a border county in the south east of Scotland. The county takes its name from the town of Berwick-upon-Tweed, which is now in England. Berwickshire included the burghs of Coldstream, Duns, Eyemouth and Lauder. Berwickshire County Council was established by the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1889, taking over powers from the Commissioners of Supply, County Road Trust, and other local authorities. The County Council was abolished in 1975 by the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1973, and the former county became part of Borders Region. The current local authority is the Scottish Borders Council.

Archive services
Further information about these archives can be found in the SCAN Directory.
Scottish Borders Archive & Local History Centre

Family History Societies
Borders Family History Society



Historical records

County Council records
County Constabulary records
Medical Officer of Health reports
Vehicle Licensing Records
Valuation Rolls

JP court records
Register of sasines
Other records

<< Back