Click to Print


Argyllshire was a maritime and highland county in the west of Scotland. It included the burghs of Campbeltown, Dunoon, Inveraray, Lochgilphead, Oban and Tobermory; and the inhabited islands of Carna, Coll, Colonsay, Danna, Davaar, Dhuheartach, Easdale, Gigha, Gometra, Inch Kenneth, Innischonan, Iona, Islay, Jura, Kerrera, Lismore, Luing, Mull, Oronsay, Orsay, Sanda, Seil, Shuna, Tiree, and Ulva. Argyll County Council was established by the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1889, taking over powers from the Commissioners of Supply, County Road Trust, and other local authorities. The County Council was abolished in 1975 by the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1973, and almost all of the former county became part of Strathclyde Region. The current local authority is Argyll & Bute Council, set up in 1996, on the abolition of Strathclyde Regional Council.

Archive services
(contact details for these archives can be found in the SCAN Directory)
Argyll & Bute Council Archives
Glasgow City Archives
Glasgow University Archive Services

Local studies libraries
Argyll & Bute Library Service: Local Collection, Dunoon

Family History Societies
Glasgow & South West of Scotland Family History Society




Historical records

County Council records
County Constabulary records
Medical Officer of Health reports
Vehicle Licensing Records
Valuation Rolls

JP court records
Register of sasines
Other records

<< Back