Click to Print
Click to PrintCloseKnowledge Base Home
County of Aberdeen

Aberdeen County
Aberdeenshire was a county in the north east of Scotland. The county also included the burghs of Aberdeen, Ballater, Ellon, Fraserburgh, Huntly, Inverurie, Kintore, Old Aberdeen, Old Meldrum, Peterhead, Rosehearty, Turriff, and Woodside. Aberdeen County Council was established by the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1889, taking over powers from the Commissioners of Supply, County Road Trust, and other local authorities. The town of Aberdeen (including Old Aberdeen and Woodside) became a county of a city in 1900. The County Council was abolished in 1975 by the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1973, and the former county was divided between the District Councils of Gordon, Banff and Buchan, Kincardine and Deeside and the City of Aberdeen; all within Grampian Region. The area which constituted the former county is administered by the present Aberdeenshire Council, which was formed in 1995, and covers a larger area than the pre-1975 Aberdeenshire. The parishes of Peterculter, Dyce, Newhills and the Bridge of Don area of Old Machar parish were incorporated into the City of Aberdeen District in 1974 and thence into Aberdeen City Council in 1995.

Archive services
Further information about these archives can be found in the SCAN Directory.
Aberdeenshire Council Archives
Aberdeen City Archives
University of Aberdeen, Special Libraries and Archives
Northern Health Services Archives
National Archives of Scotland
National Library of Scotland

Local studies libraries
Aberdeenshire Library & Information Service
Aberdeen City Libraries

Family History Societies
Aberdeen & North East of Scotland Family History Society



Historical records

County Council records
County Constabulary records
Medical Officer of Health reports
Vehicle Licensing Records
Valuation Rolls

JP court records
Register of sasines
Other records



Iain Gray (Aberdeen City Archives), Fiona Watson (Northern Health Services Archives), Robin Urquhart (SCAN)

<< Back